Snoozing Keywords On Facebook: Avoid Those Pesky Spoilers!

Scenario: You’re working late or you’re busy with other engagements which prevents you from missing your favourite TV show or seeing the latest blockbuster film that everyone apart from you is currently watching.

The last thing you want to see when you log into your social accounts is that one person ruining what happens because you missed out.

Good news! You don’t need to sign out or delete your account to avoid seeing what happens in the latest episode or have that ‘OH MY GOD’ ending spoiled for you! Facebook has introduced a snooze function on keyword which means you can scroll along your timeline without worrying about what people are posting about what you will catch up on (eventually.)

 What the snooze feature on Facebook will look like.

What the snooze feature on Facebook will look like.

What is great about this feature is the keywords will stay snoozed on your News Feed for up to 30 days (one whole month!) The only tiny little thing is that after 30 days, you will need to renew the snooze feature on those keywords if required. Twitter and Instagram’s Muted Words option stay muted until you unmute them. 

To use this feature all you do is when writing a post on Facebook, there will be three little dots on the top right hand corner, click on that and select the snooze keywords in the post option in the drop down menu and type in the keywords (nouns) which you wish to snooze for whatever time you please.

As of now, this has been rolled out to a few Facebook users as a trial and if successful, will be rolled out worldwide. For just now, use your ninja scrolling skills to avoid said spoilers or just watch it the same time as everyone else as Fear Of Missing Out (FOMO) is actually a thing - who knew?

What would you use your keywords on? Are there any shows that you want to mute because you’re sick of people going ON and ON about them? Let us know in the comments below!

P.S. Mine is ❤️🏝

Website Editor